Women to Watch

Leave a comment

October 9, 2012 by thecuriousaquarius

Dar Modelling for Glamour magazine Backstage

Dar Modelling for Glamour magazine Backstage (Photo credit: geishaboy500)

In September I started a Twitter. I used to knock people I knew who had them, not understanding why people feel the need to post status updates about “getting coffee” or “heading into NYC.” But I can safely say that after a month of trial and twerror (twitter error) I really love Twitter.

I love it most because I feel that it really educates me. It gives me access to news stories, quotes and other information that I would have never known about because unlike my father, I don’t sit at the table each morning and read The Philadelphia Inquirer (although he would say I should!) Anyway… Today I found a tweet on Glamour Magazine’s page that had to do with female entrepreneurs and how women are literally climbing their way up the professional latter, stepping on one man at a time.

I became inspired.

Why? (Hopefully you’re asking yourself…)

Well I’ll tell you! Many reasons. I’ll start off by saying that I can’t help myself but become inspired when I see women running businesses or in a leadership position. For such a long time we were pushed to the back, trying to forge ahead and get in line with the men in this country. Some will argue that this is still an issue and while I might entertain that point I stand firm in my beliefs that women are pushing ahead with each day that passes and I am proud to be part of that.

I’m also inspired because it makes me hopeful. In a world where we are controlled by computers and iPod’s and disconnected from so many things, this small shred of other women’s success oddly feels like my own success. And maybe it only feels like a bit of my success merely because I happen to have breasts, but it still feels like I share that. These women are empowering and they give me faith and confidence that I can do the same thing as they are: rise to the top and climb my way up the ladder to success.

The show is called “Women to Watch” and will be airing on Bloomberg Television. Glamour provided some videos and explained who the show will be featuring. Check it out on their website, here.

Until next time ladies and gents,

xo- Dane

Leave a Reply

Hey guys! Enter your email address to follow this blog

Join 13 other followers

Jules' Fuel

Fueling lifestyle wellness & purpose.

Nikki C's Fit Life

just a millennial with a passion for fitness figuring out life

While Waiting For You

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

CBS Atlanta

News, Sports, Weather, Traffic and the Best of Atlanta

Miss Jay's life journey

Jay's highs and lows in life

beautifulsimplemeaningful

jack of all trades, master of none, I'm looking for what really matters.

The Curvy Carrot

Healthy and Indulgent Meals Dangling in Front of You

Eat, Live, Run

a little bit of this... and a little bit of that.

Christa Alexis

Contributor for Vegnews.com, Viva Glam Magazine, and brand enthusiast for CoconutGreens!

Aunt Jen's Otaku Shack

Anime, Manga, Fanworks, Fan Culture

Have Your Cake and...

a life in pursuit of balancing healthy and indulgent

Gen Y Girl

Twentysomething. Annoyed with corporate BS. Obsessed with Gen Y. Not bratty. Just opinionated.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

