Hold On

Leave a comment

November 30, 2012 by thecuriousaquarius

This past year I completed an AmeriCorps program (AmeriCorps can best be described as a domestic Peace Corps) where I lived with 14 people in one house. None of us had ever met and we were from all over the country.

A lot of people thought I was pretty crazy for moving to Massachusetts to live with a bunch of strangers and help the environment – and I must admit at times while in the program I wasn’t sure why I had done it – but looking back four months later, I couldn’t be more happy that I picked up and moved to a different state.

A friend of mine from the program, Tom, sent me a mixed CD about a month ago. It was mostly songs I had never heard of which I really liked. I love being introduced to new music and it was particularly special because Tom is back in California and it was a nice way of staying connected with him (despite the thousand miles away).

His CD brings me to my newest blog post. Do you ever hear a song and feel after listening to it once or twice that you have to keep listening to it…. over and over and over again? That each and every time you’re in your car you feel this urgency to put it on and rock out, screaming the lyrics as you drive by yourself?

I hope so. Because it is a beautiful thing.

And that is exactly what the song Hold On by Alabama Shakes does for me. Below I posted a video of the song:

I love it. I NEED it. I’ve GOT to have it. That’s how this makes me feel driving 25 mph around my town or 70 mph down a highway. I am not sure I can fully explain why or how this song just utterly consumes me, but it does.

And I wouldn’t want it any other way.

Thanks Tom, for sharing new music and opening my ears up to a new sound.

Until next time! xo-Dane

Leave a Reply

Hey guys! Enter your email address to follow this blog

Join 13 other followers

Jules' Fuel

Fueling lifestyle wellness & purpose.

Fitness and Health Spot

just a student who enjoys health, nutrition, and fitness!

While Waiting For You

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

CBS Atlanta

News, Sports, Weather, Traffic and the Best of Atlanta

Miss Jay's life journey

Jay's highs and lows in life

beautifulsimplemeaningful

jack of all trades, master of none, I'm looking for what really matters.

The Curvy Carrot

Healthy and Indulgent Meals Dangling in Front of You

Eat, Live, Run

a little bit of this... and a little bit of that.

Christa Alexis

Contributor for Vegnews.com, Viva Glam Magazine, and brand enthusiast for CoconutGreens!

Aunt Jen's Otaku Shack

Anime, Manga, Fanworks, Fan Culture

Have Your Cake and...

a life in pursuit of balancing healthy and indulgent

Gen Y Girl

Twentysomething. Annoyed with corporate BS. Obsessed with Gen Y. Not bratty. Just opinionated.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

