Dwelling on the Past

Leave a comment

December 7, 2012 by thecuriousaquarius

My past is not about regrets, there are no bad...

 (Photo credit: deeplifequotes)

Sometimes I find myself remembering a situation that happened a week, a month, or even a year ago and cringing. My actions or words were not chosen carefully in that one moment and I regret doing or saying something.

I know I can’t take it back.

But that doesn’t stop me from re-playing the scenario over and over in my head, wishing and hoping it had turned out differently.

So, why do I continue to dwell on things from the past that I know I cannot change? And when I think of these isolated situations where I didn’t put my best foot forward and hurt someone, I think of Maya Angelo’s quote:

“I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.”

And then I tend to feel a little worse about the whole thing. The good news is that I’ve tried to learn from these experiences and move forward. But I still grapple with “I should have done this” or “why did I have to say that?”

I know it cannot be changed but that doesn’t really seem to matter in the spiral staircase that is my mind. So maybe you can help me.

What do you do when you dwell on something from the past that you might regret, knowing that you cannot change it?

xo-Dane

Leave a Reply

Hey guys! Enter your email address to follow this blog

Join 13 other followers

Jules' Fuel

Fueling lifestyle wellness & purpose.

Nikki C's Fit Life

just a millennial with a passion for fitness figuring out life

While Waiting For You

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

CBS Atlanta

News, Sports, Weather, Traffic and the Best of Atlanta

Miss Jay's life journey

Jay's highs and lows in life

beautifulsimplemeaningful

jack of all trades, master of none, I'm looking for what really matters.

The Curvy Carrot

Healthy and Indulgent Meals Dangling in Front of You

Eat, Live, Run

a little bit of this... and a little bit of that.

Christa Alexis

Contributor for Vegnews.com, Viva Glam Magazine, and brand enthusiast for CoconutGreens!

Aunt Jen's Otaku Shack

Anime, Manga, Fanworks, Fan Culture

Have Your Cake and...

a life in pursuit of balancing healthy and indulgent

Gen Y Girl

Twentysomething. Annoyed with corporate BS. Obsessed with Gen Y. Not bratty. Just opinionated.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

